Skip to main content

Please comment on Sony PCM-D1 vs Digi 002 I'm not a pro :( . So any in-depth tech explanation, links will greatly help.

I record class room lectures with live audience (not a sound proof room). Usually I have only one speaker. I need to get the best quality recording in every aspect.

Currently I use Digi 002, /w Sonar 4.0 & Dynamic MICs from Sony & Philips. This is giving good quality. BUT mobility & portability of the equipment is very very important as well. So I'm looking at Sony PCM-D1.

With PCM-D1, could I get same or comparable to Digi 002 quality of recording even with some additional gear?
If yes, please explain any additional requirements such as MIC.
If not, please explain why?

In other words - when I look at the specifications, the bit rates, ... PCM-D1 is as good as Digi. So with what additional setup I could use PCM-D1 to record the lectures to get the same quality?

Thank you :)

(modified post with additional info.)

Comments

RemyRAD Sat, 08/02/2008 - 15:03

You may be guided by God but you're not being guided in the right direction.

So you want to record your preacher? Your current unit the 002 is a disk mounted implement that requires a dedicated computer.

So now you're looking at a miniature recorder with built-in microphones, designed for ambient music recording, not for speeches.

Your preacher needs a wireless, body back, microphone. The receiver of which should be placed in the closest proximity to his position. NOT AT THE BACK! Then all you need is a ZOOM H-4 which can accept external microphone or line inputs. Better still, you could still plugged the wireless microphone receiver into your 002.

It's crazy to want to spend $2000 on a portable recorder that will still require an additional external microphone that will still cost you hundreds more. That doesn't make any sense and God is not guiding you in the right direction.