Skip to main content

Hi there,

I'm fairly new to the recording scene. Because of my budget I don't wanna spend too much money. My eye caught the boss and the Yamaha 1600 versions. these are more than enough for the moment.

Although my question is, which is better? They have about the same specs I guess, but is Yamaha (or boss for that matter) the one with the better quality audio? I heard recording people aren't that psyched about boss products. Can anyone help me with making this decision?

thanks!

Jimmy

Comments

anonymous Tue, 04/11/2006 - 09:58

this or that

I looked into buy Boss and Yamaha, but I went with a Zoom MRS1608, I've had it over a year and it does fine by me. It had an important feature for me that the others didn't have, a competely programable drummer ( and it's doesn't whine) Not to mention the price was better. But that was me, of course you have to decide if a particular unit has what you need.
That being said, I doubt the sound recording quailty of any units in that range vary that much, unless of course one is 16 bit verses 24 bit, stuff like that.
One thing I would look at though is the units features concerning it's ability to mix, a parameter eq is really nice, also how easy is it to get your raw tracks off the unit and to a PC if that is something you'll be wanting to do.
But back to sound quality, before purchasing I was also concerned about sound quality, and found the advice hard to come by, as how many people ever really put units side by side and test them for sound quality. Not to mention measure 'sound quality' is such a hard think to measure with so many variables in play.
At first I thought the sound quality of Zoom was lacking, but after learning more about how to use it and improving my recording techniques I found I could get some farily decent records, consider this is 'home recording' which leads me to a final point.